International Sakharov Environmental Institute of Belarusian State University

Grand ceremony devoted to the beginning of new 2017/2018 academic year

Grand ceremony dedicated to the beginning of new 2017/2018 academic year was held in ISEI BSU on the 1st of September, 2017.

Director of ISEI BSU, Professor Sergey Maskevich opened the meeting by welcoming the first-year students and congratulated them on the Day of Knowledge. Also the welcoming speeches were delivered by the following guests of the event: Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs of Belarusian State University Alexei Tolstik, Deputy Minister of Natural Resources and Environmental Protection of the Republic of Belarus Alexander Korbut, Deputy Head of the Administration of the Partizansky District of Minsk Alexander Kudermajev, Chief Specialist of the Department of Project Activities of BRSM (Belarusian Republican Youth Union), graduate of ISEI BSU Alexandra Lugovskaya, and First Vice-Rector of Tajik Nationak University Toir Khodzaev.

In addition, the event was attended by Deputy Director for Research Sergey Poznyak, Deputy Director for Administrative and Economic Work Alla Shalimo, Dean of the Faculty of Environmental Monitoring Vladislav Zhuravkov, Dean of the Faculty of Environmental Medicine Igor Buchenkov, Dean of the Faculty of Advanced Training and Retraining Vladimir Putik, as well as heads of structural divisions, lecturers and students of ISEI BSU.

Sergey Maskevich awarded the students with the modern symbolic «Key of Knowledge», while lecturers and first-year students brought the oath of allegiance to their Institute.

In order to perpetuate this day, a symbolic planting of seeds of thuja tree was organized for the students. During their studies, they will take care of the seedlings to plant the evergreen trees later. The grand ceremony of first-year students of ISEI BSU was closed by the student youth hymn «Gaudeamus» and the launch of balloons into the sky.

After the event, freshmen went to the interactive entertainment area, organized by the student public organizations of our Institute.